Learn how it affects you.
On Jan. 1, 2019, the Provider Stability Act (PSA) will take effect. This is good news for providers across Tennessee, because it will require health plans to provide more transparency when making changes to policies, procedures and fee schedules. The law only applies to Commercial providers at this time.
As an overview, the law will require all Tennessee health plans to give you more time to react to changes we make at our discretion. In addition, it will limit the number of times we can make certain types of changes. Learn more about the law and how it will affect you.
By law, we’ll need to try to send you PSA-related notifications by email. From the Contract Details screen, you’ll need to confirm your contracting email address and Opt In for these communications.
Click here for directions on how you can verify your contact preferences through Availity.
If you haven’t registered with Availity, please do so today. This will be your main resource for all PSA-related notifications.
If we can't reach you by email, we'll need to send communications by mail. If your mailing address isn't correct, please:
We appreciate your partnership in caring for our members – and we want to make sure you get the information you need to be successful. By providing your updated email address, you’ll get what you need faster and receive fewer mailings at your busy office.
If you have questions about:
Availity, contact Availity at 1-800-AVAILITY (282-4548) or our eBusiness technical support team at (423) 535-5717, option 2 or email@example.com.
This email collection request, contact your local Provider Network Manager.
The PSA or network participation, call Provider Network Services at 1-800-924-7141 and follow the prompts for Networks and Contracting or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. You can also contact your Provider Network Manager for help.
For your convenience, you can refer to the actual law, which was signed into effect April 5, 2017. Or, you may review the highlights below:
When an insurer makes changes to a provider manual, reimbursement rule or policy, the insurer must disclose or identify that information at least 60 days before the change takes effect. Here’s how we’ll communicate these changes to you:
Insurers must give you at least 90 days’ notice about any fee schedule changes and effective dates. We cannot make fee schedule changes more than once in a 12-month period. However, a health insurance carrier and a hospital may agree to changes in writing. Here’s how we’ll communicate these changes:
Exceptions include changes to your:
Use our directory to find providers and make referrals.